Saturday, December 2, 2023

Rurouni Kenshin (2023) Filler List and Order to Watch

Rurouni Kenshin sometimes called Samurai X, is an anime that has 24 episodes divided into 1 season, without any filler episodes, this adapted up to chapter ? of the manga, which is where the anime ends (it has 255 chapters, finished) .

  • Rating: 4.2/5 ( votes).
  • Creator: Nobuhiro Watsuki
  • Magazine: Weekly Shōnen Jump
  • Editorial: Shūeisha
  • Published (manga): April 12, 1994 – September 21, 1999
  • Studio: Liden Films
  • Director: Hideyo Yamamoto
  • Music: Yū Takami
  • Premiere (anime): July 7, 2023 – present
Score MAL: 7.6/10 18,060 votes.
IMDb Rating: 8.2/10 808 votes.

In the waning years of the 19th century, as the harsh era of Bakumatsu drew to a close, Japan embraced a new Meiji era that symbolized the nation's restoration. As the curtains fell on the war, the renowned hero Hitokiri Battousai vanished into obscurity, leaving only his legendary tale behind.

In a later period, Kenshin Himura, a seemingly unremarkable traveler, crosses paths with Kaoru Kamiya, the proprietor of a struggling local dojo in Tokyo. Kaoru is on a mission to confront a self-proclaimed Battousai terrorizing the streets, indiscriminately taking lives of both civilians and law enforcement officers. Adding to the complexity, this imposter claims to wield the Kamiya Kasshin-ryu, a sword style deeply ingrained in the philosophy of life rather than death, developed by Kaoru's father.

Kenshin, secretly the true Hitokiri Battousai, decides to assist Kaoru in exposing the imposter and reviving her father's dojo. Although Kaoru eventually discovers Kenshin's real identity, his commitment to atone for his violent past by protecting the weak without bloodshed deeply moves her. In a heartfelt gesture, she welcomes Kenshin to reside at her dojo. However, Kenshin's principles face a challenging test as he confronts the ghosts of his past and adversaries from the present.

Rurouni Kenshin (2023) Filler Episodes List

In this list I will mark you the filler episodes of Rurouni Kenshin (2023) (if it had them), the extra material of the anime, either ovas or movies will be located in Chronological Order, and finally I will mention in which chapter of the manga the anime ends or in which chapter of the manga to start reading after the anime.


The opening it covers is  Hiten (1-12) and Rurō no Katashiro (13-24) and the endings are  Kissaki (1-12) and Sonzai Shōmei (13-24) .

  • 01. "Kenshin – Himura Battosai"
  • 02. "Tokyo Samurai – Yahiko Myojin"
  • 03. "Kasshin-ryu – Reborn"
  • 04. "The Fighter for Hire – Sanosuke Sagara"
  • 05. "And Then, Another"
  • 06. "Kurogasa"
  • 07. "The Two Hitokiri"
  • 08. "Beauty on the Run"
  • 09. "The Oniwabanshu Strike"
  • 10. "A Reason to Act"
  • 11. "Savage Han'nya – Honorable Shikijo"
  • 12. "Okashira – Aoshi Shinomori"
  • 13. "Battle's End"
  • 14. "Yahiko's Battle"
  • 15. "That Man – Raijuta"
  • 16. "The Ideal Man"
  • 17. "Settling the Score"
  • 18. "Sanosuke & Nishiki Paintings"
  • 19. "Tsunan & Nishiki Paintings"
  • 20. "Meiji Swordsman Romantic Story: Act Zero"
  • 21. "Dissolution of a Nightmare. Destruction of a Nightmare"
  • 22. "Resurrection of the Wolf"
  • 23. "The Wolf's Fang"
  • 24. "TBA"

What chapter of the manga is Rurouni Kenshin (2023) anime on?

Last Episode Corresponds to: We start reading from:

The last episode that was adapted from the manga was the 22th of Season 1, which corresponds to Chapters 48, 49 and 50 (p. 1-15), which is where the anime leave off.


So if we want to continue the manga after the anime, we must start reading from Chapter 50 (p. 16) of the manga, this corresponds to Volume 7 (contains chapters 48 to 57).